UH Hilo Students Named to 2009 Who’s Who for Outstanding Leadership

Media Release:

The 2009 edition of Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges will include the names of 20 students from the University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo who have been selected as national outstanding campus leaders.
Campus nominating committees and editors of the annual directory have included the names of these students based on their academic achievement, service to the community, leadership in extracurricular activities and potential for continued success.

UH Hilo honorees join an elite group of students from more than 2,000 institutions of higher learning in all 50 states, the District of Columbia and several foreign nations.

Outstanding students have been honored in the annual directory since it was first published in 1934.


Students named this year from UH Hilo are: Alexandra D. Cohen, Steven Coss, Jet Heng, Calvin C. Higa, Ashley L. Kierkiewicz, Hiroko Komiyama, Kelli R. Makino, Kohei Miyagi, Yuko Miyazato, Seatree S. Osage, Aaron Ouchi, Kimberly Pisciotta, Nichole Rahberg, Akira O. Ruddle-Miyamoto, Stacy L. Ruegilin, Eric Santos, Alena Seim, Rie Takemoto, Kendra R. Tidwell, and La‘akea K. Yoshida.