University of Hawaii Announces 2013 Distinguished Alumni Awards

The University of Hawai‘i Distinguished Alumni Award recognizes outstanding alumni who have used their education to excel professionally, provide inspirational leadership to others, and provide service for the benefit of UH and the community. This year’s honorees will be recognized on Tuesday, May 14, at the Sheraton Waikiki Hotel at a dinner in their honor. The Honorable Daniel Akaka is honorary chair of our 25th annual event. The honorees are:
Distinguished Alumni 2012
2013 Distinguished Alumni Award

  • Edwin Gayagas (BEd ’62 Mānoa) – Community Service Volunteer and Retired U. S. Army Officer
  • Alden Henderson, PhD (BS ’77, MPH ’82 Mānoa) – Epidemiologist, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
  • Patrick Sullivan, PhD (MS ’81, PhD ’85 Mānoa) – Chairman & Founder, Oceanit
  • Barbara Tanabe (MBA ’83 Mānoa) – Owner & Managing Partner, Ho‘ākea Communications

2013 UH Founders Alumni Association Lifetime Achievement Award

  • David Ezra, JD (Attended Mānoa) – Senior United States District Judge

For more information about the Distinguished Alumni Awards dinner or UHAA, contact the Alumni Relations office at (808) 956-2586, toll-free 1‑877-842-5867 or, or visit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I do this to keep the spammers away * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.