Hawaii Island Economic Development Board Announces New Officers and Board of Directors

The Hawaii Island Economic Development Board (HIEDB) is pleased to announce its new 2012-13 Officers and Board of Directors.

Dr. Greg Chun (Kamehameha Schools) continues as Chair of the Board of Directors with James Takamine (Hawaii Community Federal Credit Union) serving as Vice Chair, Mike Kaleikini (Puna Geothermal Ventures/ORMAT) serving as Secretary and David Honma (First Hawaiian Bank) serving as Treasurer. Roberta Chu (Bank of Hawaii) is HIEDB’s Immediate Past Chair.

Members of the Board of Directors include LeeAnn Crabbe (Queen Liliuokalani Trust), Richard Ha (Hamakua Springs), Richard Henderson (RSM, Inc.) Jay Ignacio (HELCO), Marvin Min (The Gas Company), Barry Mizuno (BTM LLC.) Patricia Provalenko Price (PATDI Inc.), Dr. Mike Sayama (HMSA), Barry Taniguchi (KTA Super Stores) and Bill Walter (W.H. Shipman).

“I am honored to work with this dedicated and inspired group of people whose main mission is to promote Hawai’i Island as an “Island of Opportunity,” stated HIEDB Executive Director Jacqui Hoover. “These individuals devote countless volunteer hours to make Hawai’i Island a better place to live, work and learn.”

HIEDB’s island-wide initiatives focus on Place (infrastructure planning and natural resources including environment, agriculture, energy and historic sites), People (education, community engagement, workforce development, innovation and community health) and Products (agriculture, innovation industries and tourism).

Place-based strategic focus areas include Saddle Road Phase III Alignment, Invasive Species Control, Food Security, Fuel Self Sufficiency and Heritage Corridor Interpretive Plans.

People initiatives include Huiana Internship Mentor Program, Robotics and Project EAST, Kama’aina Come Home, University of Hawaii Hilo and Kona campuses, Tourism—Educate to Innovate, Astronomy (Thirty Meter Telescope) and Promotion of Life Sciences through PBARC and NELHA.

Product initiatives include EPA Recycling, Consume Local Campaign, Agri-Tourism and an Innovation Sector Data Base.

The Hawaii Island Economic Development Board was formed in a time of economic turmoil in late 1983 during the County of Hawaii administration of Mayor Herbert Matayoshi. Stephen K. Yamashiro was the Council Chair at the time. During the early formation months of its inception HIEDB pursued a grant from the State Department of Planning and Economic Development to assist them and the Chambers in building a support mechanism based on surveying existing business to more clearly define the existing business climate as an important component of any business retention and attraction program. HIEDB has grown from these early years to partner today with many Federal, State, County and private enterprises to promote sustainable growth and development of Hawai’i Island.

For more information call HIEDB at 808-935-2180.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I do this to keep the spammers away * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.