Three DOE Board Members Resign Over Laupahoehoe Charter School Decision

Three members of a panel overseeing Hawaii’s charter schools have resigned over a decision involving a rural Big Island school.

Laupahoehoe Charter School

Charter School Review Panel Chairman Carl Takamura, former Chairwoman Ruth Tschumy and Pualani Akaka resigned Thursday, saying the Board of Education disregarded their work.

The Honolulu Star-Advertiser ( ) reports Tschumy’s resignation letter cites the board’s reversal of the panel’s decisions on converting Laupahoehoe School into a charter school.

More Here: 3 members of panel overseeing Hawaii charter schools resign over Laupahoehoe conversion | The Republic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I do this to keep the spammers away * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.