Hawaii Mayors in Washington DC Now

Mayor Kenoi along with Mayors Mufi Hanneman, Bernard P. Carvalho Jr. and Charmaine Tavares are all attending the 78th Winter Meeting of the US Conference of Mayors in Washington DC right now.

The Hawaii Mayors surround US Secretary of Education Arne Duncan

Media Release:

More than 230 of the nation’s mayors, led by U.S. Conference of Mayors President Burnsville, MN, Mayor Elizabeth Kautz, will convene for the 78th Winter Meeting of The U.S. Conference of Mayors on Wednesday, January 20-Friday, January 22, at the Capital Hilton Hotel in Washington, D.C.

The nation’s mayors will meet with the Obama Administration and Congress to advocate for a national bipartisan political agenda that confronts the unemployment that still exists on main street America, the need for a federal/city partnership on climate protection and energy with block grants to cities producing green jobs, and a more balanced transportation bill next year that recognizes the necessity to modernize the current transportation system in order to daily move goods, services and people in our metro areas of the nation.

Highlighting the three-day session will be the release of a report on Wednesday, June 20th that forecasts the pace of the economic recovery and job growth in the nation’s 363 individual metropolitan economies, where 85% of the people in this country live. The report will include projections of when each metro will reach their pre-recession job levels. Mayors will also visit the White House to meet with President Obama and his Economic Advisory Team on Thursday, January 21; and First Lady Michelle Obama will address the mayors on Wednesday afternoon, January 20 (Please contact FirstLadyPress@who.eop.gov for access; the deadline for credentials for the First Lady is TOMORROW — Tuesday, January 19th at 10am EST.)

Confirmed Speakers for the Meeting Include: House Speaker Nancy Pelosi, Energy Secretary Steven Chu, Housing and Urban Development Secretary Shaun Donovan, Education Secretary Arne Duncan, Attorney General Eric Holder, Environmental Protection Agency Administrator Lisa Jackson, Transportation Secretary LaHood, Drug Czar Gil Kerlikowske, U.S. Trade Representative Ron Kirk, Labor Secretary Hilda Solis, Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack, AK Senator Mark Begich, WA Senator Patty Murray, FL Congressman Debbie Wasserman Schultz, White House Urban Affairs Director Aldofo Carrion, Oregon Governor Ted Kulongoski, Hiroshima, Japan Mayor Tadatoshia Akiba, Florence, Italy Mayor Matteo Renzi, Mexico City Mayor Marcelo Ebrard, National Urban League President and CEO Marc Morial, NEA Chairman Rocco Landesman, Robert F. Kennedy, Jr. and more.

As the new President of The Conference of Mayors, Mayor Kautz is serving the balance of former Seattle Mayor Greg Nickel’s term, which would have ended in June 2010, and then serve a full term of her own until June 2011. (Greg Nickels was defeated in the most recent mayoral election and his term ended on January 2.) Mayor Kautz was previously the Vice President of The Conference and under the rules of the organization’s Constitution, when the current President is no longer a mayor, the Vice President automatically becomes President.

Mayor Kautz was first elected Burnsville’s Mayor in 1994 and has been re-elected five times since. Mayor Kautz is the fifth woman President in the history of The U.S. Conference of Mayors, and due to her succession last week, Mayor Kautz will be the longest serving woman President in the organization’s 78-year history.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I do this to keep the spammers away * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.