Robert Alm to Head PBS Hawaii Board of Directors

Robert Alm

Robert Alm

Hawaii’s only public television station, PBS Hawaii, has a new Board Chair—Robert Alm, Executive Vice President of Hawaiian Electric Company, succeeding longtime Chair Neil Hannahs.  Alm is also the new Board Chair of another nonprofit organization, Enterprise Honolulu, and teaches a graduate course in leadership at the University of Hawaii at Manoa.

Other members of the PBS Hawaii Board Executive Committee are Vice Chair, auto executive Ronald Hansen; Secretary, Timothy Johns, CEO of Bishop Museum; and Treasurer, Big Island building supply executive Jason Fujimoto.

In addition, four new members joined the PBS Hawaii Board of Directors: marketer Ian Kitajima, musical artist Kawika Kahiapo, governmental affairs specialist Ken Hiraki, and community development executive Marissa Sandblom.  PBS Hawaii Board members are unpaid and serve three-year terms.

PBS Hawaii, an educational media organization, is the home of high-quality television programs including Sesame Street , Nova, Na Mele, and many documentaries, which are broadcast without commercial interruption.

The viewer-supported organization, located in Manoa, bought a parcel of land along Nimitz Highway and plans to build its future home there.

The PBS Hawaii Board of Directors:

ROBERT ALM (Chair)  – Executive Vice President of Public Affairs for Hawaiian Electric Company

RONALD HANSEN (Vice Chair)   –  VP and COO King Automotive Group

TIM JOHNS (Secretary)   –  President, Director and Chief Executive Officer of Bishop Museum

JASON FUJIMOTO (Treasurer)  –  Vice President & Director of Corporate Operations for Hawaii Planing Mill, Ltd.

ANDREW AOKI – Co-founder of 3Point, a Hawaii-based firm that thinks strategically about the organizational, analytical, and political facets of creating public value

CAROLYN BERRY —  2003 recipient of the Association of Fundraising Professionals Jefferson Award and  a board member for Adult Friends for Youth, Diamond Head Theatre, Chaminade University and Hawaii Youth Symphony

JIMMY BORGES – Renowned entertainer and recipient of Na Hoku Hanohano Lifetime Achievement award

KEIKI-PUA DANCIL, PH.D. – Executive Vice President of Business Operations for Hawaii Chitopure

ROBIN PUANANI DANNER – Founding President & CEO of the Council for Native Hawaiian Advancement

GUY FUJIMURA – Secretary/Treasurer of ILWU Local 142

KEN HIRAKI – Attorney and Government Affairs Director for Hawaiian Telcom

ALAN HOFFMAN – Senior Vice President of Corporate Communications and Public Affairs for Hawaiian Airlines

HŌKULANI HOLT-PADILLA –   Director of Cultural Programs, Maui Arts & Cultural Center

JOAN LEE HUSTED – Retired Executive Director of Hawaii State Teachers Association

KAWIKA KAHIAPO –  Three-time Na Hoku Hanohano Award Winner, as a master of slack key guitar, composer, musician and member of the band Kaukahi

IAN KITAJIMA – Marketing Manager of Oceanit, a leading Honolulu-based international tech company

THOMAS KOIDE – Senior Executive Vice President & Manager Hawaii Branch Division for Bank of Hawaii

BILL MILLS – Chairman of The Mills Group.  Also serves on the boards of Grace Pacific Corporation, Iolani School , Hawaii Pacific University and St. Andrew’s Priory

CAMERON NEKOTA – Director of Kapolei Property Development, LLC, an affiliate of the James Campbell Company, LLC.

MARISSA SANDBLOM – Vice President of Kauai-based Grove Farm Company and President of the Grove Farm Company Foundation

DAVID WATUMULL – Co-founder, President & CEO of Cardax Pharmaceuticals.  Co-inventor of the initial Cardax technology

One Response

  1. Wow, I had no idea PBS Hawai’i had so many seats on their board of directors. And I used to work there!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I do this to keep the spammers away * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.