• puako-general-store
  • what-to-do-media
  • RSS W2DM

  • Cheneviere Couture
  • PKF Document Shredding
  • Arnotts Mauna Kea Tours
  • World Botanical Garden
  • Hilton Waikoloa Village
  • Hilton Luau
  • Dolphin Quest Waikoloa
  • Discount Hawaii Car Rental
  • 10% Off WikiFresh

  • Say When

  • When

  • RSS Pulpconnection

  • Recent Comments

Governor’s West Hawai’i Community Advisory Council to Focus on Hawai’i Clean Energy Initiative

Media Release

The Governor’s West Hawai‘i Community Advisory Council will meet on Wednesday, March 11, 2009, at the Natural Energy Laboratory of Hawai‘i Authority (NELHA) Gateway Center, at 73-4460 Queen Ka‘ahumanu Highway #101 in Kailua-Kona. The meeting begins at 5:30 p.m.

Ted Peck, energy administrator, Strategic Industries Division from the Department of Business, Economic Development and Tourism will discuss the Lingle-Aiona Administration’s work to achieve energy independence through the Hawai‘i Clean Energy Initiative (HCEI). The HCEI, a partnership between the State of Hawai‘i and the U.S. Department of Energy, in collaboration with Hawaiian Electric companies, the business and academic sectors, the Legislature, the counties, the military and the community, seeks to move Hawai‘i toward having 70 percent of its energy use come from clean energy sources by 2030.

“The Governor encourages the public to attend the meeting and share any concerns or suggestions they may have regarding efforts to develop solutions to increase Hawai‘i’s energy independence, especially innovative ways to utilize the Big Island’s abundant supply of renewable energy sources,” said Andy Smith, the Governor’s West Hawai‘i Liaison.

Governor Linda Lingle created community advisory councils to give the neighbor islands a stronger voice in state government. The West Hawai‘i Community Advisory Council holds monthly public meetings to seek community input and advise the Governor of important issues and recommendations for state boards and commissions.

Members of the Governor’s West Hawai‘i Community Advisory Council are Rick Vidgen, Estela Halverson, Lei Kihoi, Glennon Gingo, Dale Fergerstrom and Elaine Watai from Kona; Doug Carr from Waikoloa; Joanne Ralston from Kapa‘au; and Beverly Byouk from Ocean View.

Anyone requiring special assistance or accommodations to participate at this meeting may call 327-4953. For additional information on neighbor island councils of advisors, including meeting minutes and agendas, visit the Governor’s Web site at www.hawaii.gov/gov.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I do this to keep the spammers away * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.