Hawaii County Mayor Billy Kenoi Asks County Residents to “Stop and Remember”

In honor of the 10th anniversary of the September 11 attacks, Hawai‘i County Mayor Billy Kenoi is asking residents of Hawai‘i Island to join the rest of the nation as we participate in “Stop and Remember.”

Stop and Remember 9/11

Stop and Remember 9/11

“At 7 a.m. Hawaii Time, we hope our residents will cease all regular activity for one minute and, as bells and sirens ring out, take a moment to honor the victims of the worst terrorist attack on U.S. soil,” said Mayor Kenoi. “We ask that you join the rest of the country and reflect on the lives lost and those affected by the tragedies of 9/11.”

The U.S. Senate has passed a unanimous resolution calling on everyone to participate in this moment. The resolution calls on governments and businesses, houses of worship and railways, fire and police departments and others to ring bells and sound sirens as we observe this Moment of Remembrance.

“Stop and Remember” will be celebrated at the same time across the country -1 p.m. EDT, 12 p.m. CDT, 11 a.m. MDT, and 10 a.m. PDT. The Counties of Maui and Kaua‘i are also participating in “Stop and Remember.”

“I hope you will join me in participating in this powerful expression of America’s patriotic spirit – and our commitment not to forget the thousands of innocent lives which were lost during the attacks,” Kenoi said.