Three Big Island Beaches Closing Early for 4th of July

The Department of Land and Natural Resources (DLNR) Division of State Parks reminds park users that the use of fireworks and alcohol is prohibited in all state parks, at all times.

Kiholo Bay

Kiholo Bay

In addition, State Parks division will conduct early closures of three West Hawaii parks on the Fourth of July holiday. (All other parks will close at normal times posted on the Hawaii State Parks website at )

Hapuna Beach State Recreation Area (including the Waialea Bay section), Kekaha Kai State Park (including the Maniniowali Beach / Kua Bay and Mahaiula Beach sections) and Kiholo State Park Reserve will close at 5 p.m. on Monday, July 4, 2016.

“We are closing these facilities early to discourage use of fireworks, which is prohibited in state parks, and to protect the public and natural resources of the areas,” said DLNR Chairperson Suzanne Case.

Normal hours will resume on Tuesday, July 5, 2016, as follows:

  • Hapuna Beach State Recreation Area – 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.
  • Kekaha Kai State Park – 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.
  • Kiholo State Park reserve – 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

As a reminder, tents are not permitted at Wailoa River State Park in Hilo.

DLNR Enforcement officers will be checking parks to ensure compliance.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I do this to keep the spammers away * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.