2016 “Hawaii: Next 50” Contest Winners Announced

The winners of the 2016 Hawaii: Next 50 Contest were honored as conductors of change on the floor of the Hawaii State House of Representatives today, followed by a luncheon with former Governor George Ariyoshi. More than 350 students statewide submitted essay, poster, and video submissions with ideas from new ways on harnessing solar, wind, wave, and geothermal power to increasing available energy efficient measures in everyday life.

next 50

The Hawaii: Next 50 Contest is inspired by Ariyoshi’s book, Hawaii: The Past Fifty Years, The Next Fifty Years, which provides a look back at our state’s history as well as suggestions for the road ahead. Students received free copies of the book and were asked to use it as a starting point to create their own predictions and vision of Hawaii’s renewable energy future.

The contest sponsored by aio Foundation, Hawaii Future Caucus, the Hawaii State House of Representatives, HGEA, and Ulupono Initiative.

In addition to the floor presentation and luncheon, winners received a monetary prize and will have their entries posted online at www.HawaiiNext50.com.

2016 Hawaii: Next 50 Contest Winners

Grades 4-5
Essay: Mei Rosa, Manoa Elementary School
Poster: Mana Harada, Maemae Elementary School

Grades 6-8
Essay: Alize Pagaduan, Highlands Intermediate School
Poster: (tie) Angelica Devers, Kapolei Middle School; Febelie Rodriguez, Waipahu Intermediate School

Grades 9-12
Essay: Sydney Millerd, Waipahu High School
Poster: Aolele Taulapapa, Kahuku High School

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I do this to keep the spammers away * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.