Hawaii Chief Justice Seeks Public Comment on Judicial Nominees

Chief Justice Mark E. Recktenwald announced today that he is seeking public comment on judicial nominees for a vacancy in the District Court of the Third Circuit (Island of Hawaii) as a result of the upcoming retirement of the Honorable Barbara T. Takase.

Judge Barbara T. Takase

Judge Barbara T. Takase

The names submitted for this vacancy by the Judicial Selection Commission, in alphabetical order, are:

  • Kevin S. Hashizaki
  • Peter K. Kubota
  • Michelle K. Laubach
  • Laureen L. Martin
  • Darien W.L.C. Nagata
  • Jeffrey W.S. Ng

Because the Chief Justice has the discretion to assign judges to the district or district family court calendar, comments about the qualifications and character of any of the nominees with regard to either calendar assignment may be sent, in writing, to:

Chief Justice Mark E. Recktenwald
Supreme Court of Hawaii
417 South King Street
Honolulu, HI  96813

Fax: 808-539-4703
Email: chiefjustice@courts.hawaii.gov

Comments must be post-marked, emailed, faxed, or hand delivered no later than Monday, March 28, 2016.  All comments will be kept confidential.

The individual selected by the Chief Justice is subject to Senate confirmation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I do this to keep the spammers away * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.