Hawaii Public Charter School Network Announces Complete List of Awardees

Hawaii Public Charter School Network (HPCSN) proudly announced the complete list of awardees who will be honored at the 2013-2014 Hawaii Charter Schools Awards on Thursday, May 15, 2014.

Hawaii Public Charter Schools Network“We are excited to host our third annual Hawaii Charter School Awards dinner and to be able to recognize the direct and meaningful impact that public charter schools and those involved with public charter schools have in their community,” said Lynn Finnegan, executive director, Hawaii Public Charter Schools Network.

The final list includes three peer-nominated categories, Governing Board Member of the Year, Leader of the Year and Circle of Teaching Excellence.  Winners are as follows:

  • HPCSN Legislators of the Year – Senator Jill Tokuda and Representative Ken Ito
  • HCPSN Community Partner of the Year – Karen Street, First Insurance Company of Hawaii
  • Charter School of the Year – Na Wai Ola Waters of Life Public Charter School, Mountain View, Hawaii
  • Most Improved Charter School – Kamaile Academy Public Charter School, Waianae, Oahu
  • Creating New Best Practices – Kona Pacific Public Charter School, Kealakekua, Hawaii and Ke Kula o Nawahiokalaniopuu Iki Lab Public Charter School, Keaau, Hawaii
  • Governing Board Member of the Year – K. Kehau Glassco, Ke Kula o Samuel Kamakau Laboratory Public Charter School, Kaneohe, Hawaii
  • Leader of the Year – Mahina Paishon-Duarte, Halau Ku Mana Public Charter School, Honolulu, Hawaii
  • Circle of Teaching Excellence – Jonathan Kissida, Hawaii Academy of Arts and Science, Pahoa, Hawaii and Leesa Foreman, West Hawaii Explorations Academy Public Charter School, Kailua-Kona, Hawaii

The dinner is open to the public and tickets can be purchased by phone at 808-380-6403 or online at 2014hawaiicharterschoolawards.eventbrite.com.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I do this to keep the spammers away * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.