Poi Pounder Baseball Classic Champions Announced

Fun, sun and exciting competition highlighted this year’s Poi Pounder Baseball Classic held during the Veterans Day holiday weekend in Hilo.

The four-day tournament attracted 24 teams of children ages 9 to 14 years old. After 51 games played under modified Pony League rules, one Kona and two Hilo-based teams emerged as champions of their respective age-group division.

Those division champions and runners-up are:

Mustang Division: (9- and 10-year-olds)

1st Place       Lil Soljahs (Kona)

Ikaika Apilado, Drew Basque, Kainoa Doctor, Noah Furchner, Shaylann Grace, Taven Hiraishi, James Kapela, Keyshawn Lorenzo, Nanea Kalua’u, Kainoa Jones, Bronson Rivera
Head Coach: Jerry Hiraishi, Asst Coaches: Kallen Hiraishi, Billy Jones

2nd Place      Andrews Braves (Hilo)

Row 1 (L-R): Teagan Tamiya, Mason Hirata, Seth Zane, Carson Kawaguchi, Dylan Honda, Isaac Inouye Row 2 (L-R): Kayla Kodani, Kobe Kagimoto, Kalai Rosario, Kedren Kinzie, Elijah Igawa
Row 3 (L-R): Asst Coach Gregg Hirata, Asst. Coach Jay Igawa, Asst Coach Scott Inouye, Asst Coach Blake Sanehira, Head Coach Chris Honda, Asst Coach Lenny Paik

Bronco Division: (11- and 12-year-olds)

1st Place       Andrews Braves (Hilo)

Row 1 (L-R): Micah Bello, Logan Respicio, Bryce Furuli, Casey Yamauchi, Maui Ahuna, Bula Ahuna, Dustin Asuncion Row 2 (L-R): Jacob Igawa, Jamie Ebersole, Stone Miyao, Eric Rivera, Rekky Prudencio Row 3 (L-R): Asst Coach Mason Bello, Asst Coach Bully Ahuna, Head Coach Lenn Miyao

2nd Place      Kona Crush (Kona)

Row 1 (L-R): Brennen Kaawa, Kelii Pelekane, Mikayla Kekoa, Keola, Pelekane, Andrew Udac, Kaimi Hook, Dakota Kala Row 2 (L-R): Tevin Canda, A.J. Alani, Kaehu Kuahuia, Kolu Alani, Preston Morales Row 3 (L-R): Coaches Gerald Pelekane, Ronald Kuahuia, Kimo Alani, Nic Kaawa, Nate Kekoa

Pony Division: (13- and 14-year-olds)

1st Place       RBI-Red (Hilo)

Row 1 (L-R): Jaysten Prudencio, Trayden Tamiya, Keian Kanetani, Joey Ongais-Louie, Jaron Kawaguchi, Jamieson Hirayama Row 2 (L-R): Asst. Coach Kerry Kanetani, Tyler Kitaoka, Makana Aiona, Kobie Kinzie, Kua Manuia, Caleb Freitas-Fields, Kelii Montibon, Royce Nuniez, Head Coach James Hirayama, Asst. Coach Dalen Asuncion. Missing: Austin DaMate-Aina

2nd Place     Big Island Baseball Orioles (Hilo)

Row 1 (L-R); Cullen Cariaga, Nathan Minami, Aidan Ah Hee, Jonah Hurney Row 2 (L-R): Head Coach Clayton Ah Hee, Justyce Ishii, Dawson Abiley, Bryce Yamashita, Pat Abiley
Row 3 (L-R): Taylor Mondina, Nick Antony, Makoa Andres, Jonathan Carboneau

Tournament organizers wish to thank and congratulate all the players, coaches and parents who helped to make the event a huge success. Questions, concerns, or suggestions may be emailed to: poipounderclassic@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

− 3 = four

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>