• puako-general-store
  • what-to-do-media
  • RSS W2DM

  • Cheneviere Couture
  • PKF Document Shredding
  • Arnotts Mauna Kea Tours
  • World Botanical Garden
  • Hilton Waikoloa Village
  • Hilton Luau
  • Dolphin Quest Waikoloa
  • Discount Hawaii Car Rental
  • 10% Off WikiFresh

  • Say When

  • When

  • RSS Pulpconnection

  • Recent Comments

Mazie Hirono Officially Files Nomination Papers for U.S. Senate

Mazie Hirono officially filed her nomination papers with the State Election Office today, officially declaring her candidacy for U.S. Senate.

Here is a video of her filing her nomination papers with the State Election Office.


UH Hilo Awards 2012 Chancellor Scholarships

Nineteen students from public, private and charter schools in Hawaiʻi have been awarded the prestigious Chancellor’s Scholarship by the University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo.

The award, valued at $23,520, covers four years of tuition for students graduating from a Hawaiʻi high school who earn either a GPA of at least 3.5, a combined 1800 SAT (reading, writing, math) or a composite score of 27 on the ACT, while demonstrating leadership and/or community service.

The 2012 recipients are a diverse groups of students comprised of 10 women and 9 men from the islands of Hawaiʻi (9), O`ahu (6) and Maui (4) who were selected from more than 90 applicants. The cohort has an average high school GPA of 3.83, with four students scoring 4.0 or better. The average SAT scores for Reading, Math and Writing were 622, 607 and 560 respectively.

“This is an impressive class of students whose academic achievements, dedication and leadership qualities are outstanding,” said Chancellor Don Straney. “We believe their decision to attend UH Hilo will benefit the entire University as well as their own personal and professional development.”

All Chancellor Scholars will be required to enroll as full-time students, stay enrolled continuously, maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.25 and participate in leadership activities and/or community services with other Chancellor Scholars.

The 2012 Chancellor Scholarship recipients and their respective high schools are as follows:

Jenna Burns, Hawaiʻi Academy of Arts and Sciences, Hawaiʻi; Kobie Clarke, Hilo High School, Hawaiʻi; Theodore DeRego, Kamehameha (Hawaiʻi), Hawaiʻi; Ashley Fukuchi, Moanalua High School, O`ahu; Alexander Guerrero, Kamehameha (Maui), Maui; Richard Hernandez, Damien Memorial High School, O`ahu; Tyler Hirokawa, Hilo High School, Hawaiʻi; Casey Jones, Kapolei High School, O`ahu; Johann Kuipers, Hilo High School, Hawaiʻi; Kate Malasig, W.R. Farrington High School, O`ahu; Jamie Ouye, Hilo High School, Hawaiʻi; Kara Paulachak, Waiakea High School, Hawaiʻi; Koa Rodrigues, Kamehameha (Maui), Maui; Dillon Tacdol, Kamehameha (Maui), Maui; Michelle Uchida, Sacred Hearts Academy High School, O`ahu; Jasmine Venegas, Waiakea High School, Hawaiʻi; Donald Waner, Lanakila Baptist High School, O`ahu; Bailey Wooldridge, Hawaiʻi Academy of Arts and Sciences, Hawaiʻi; and Jenna Yanos, Maui High School, Maui.

3.5 Magnitude Earthquake Shakes East Hawaii Today

Magnitude 3.5
Location 19.369°N, 155.473°W
Depth 10.6 km (6.6 miles)
  • 18 km (11 miles) N (2°) from Pahala, HI
  • 26 km (16 miles) WSW (250°) from Volcano, HI
  • 36 km (22 miles) NNE (20°) from Naalehu, HI
  • 55 km (34 miles) SW (227°) from Hilo, HI
  • 327 km (203 miles) SE (131°) from Honolulu, HI
Location Uncertainty horizontal +/- 0.3 km (0.2 miles); depth +/- 0.5 km (0.3 miles)
Parameters Nph= 64, Dmin=2 km, Rmss=0.12 sec, Gp= 36°,
M-type=duration magnitude (Md), Version=1
Event ID hv60352796